Piers Hellawell collections on Metronome and Delphian Recordings:
(Click disc images to purchase)


‘This disc of music from the last decade showcases the sheer diversity and strength of composer Piers Hellawell's work… Music for concentrated and serious listening’

Read Reviews here

· DELPHIAN RECORDINGS DCD34223; released end-February 2020
· Up By The Roots (+), atria @, Ground Truthing*, Piani, Latebre (^), Wild Flow (**)
· Performed by Fidelio Trio and Sinéad Morrissey (+), Huw Watkins and Paul Watkins (@) Hard Rain SoloistEnsemble (*), William Howard (^), Ulster Orchestra conducted by Paul Watkins (**)


'the vividness of Hellawell's ideas, the deftness of their execution and exploration, his effective use of abrupt contrasts....'

Read reviews by Clicking here

Click here to review or purchase  Click here to puchase at Presto Music

· DELPHIAN RECORDINGS DCD34114; released end-April 2012
· Agricolas+, Airs, Waters and Floating Islands@, Etruscan Games*, Basho@, Degrees of Separation+ and Jan Palac and the Flaming Skier**
· Performed by Robert Plane (cl), RTE NSOI conducted Pierre-Andre Valade (+), Mary Dullea(@) Fidelio Trio (*), Mary Dullea and Darragh Morgan (**)


'Who Let the Dogs Out? Here's an evocative and engaging showpiece'

Read the Gramophone review of this disc by Clicking here

Click here to purchase on amazon.co.uk  Hellawell: Cors de Chasse, Weaver of Grass & Dogs and Wolves - BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Pierre-André Valade & RTÉ Vanbrugh Quartet

· METRONOME RECORDINGS MET CD1076; released end-April 2008
· Cors de chasse+, Weaver of Grass*, Driftwood on Sand@, The Building of Curves*, Dogs and Wolves+
· Performed by BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra (+), RTÉ Vanbrugh Quartet (@) and The Schubert Ensemble (*)


Click here to purchase on amazon.co.uk  Hellawell: Inside Story, the Still Dancers & Quadruple Elegy - BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Vanbrugh String Quarte & Vanbrugh String Quartet

· METRONOME RECORDINGS MET CD1059; released March 2002
· Inside Story+, The Still Dancers *, Quadruple Elegy (in the time of freedom)+
· Performed by Clio Gould, Philip Dukes, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra (+) and RTE Vanbrugh String Quartet (*)
· BBC Music Magazine Orchestral CD of the Month, July 2002


Click here to purchase on amazon.co.uk  Hellawell: Sound Carvings - Psappha, BT Scottish Ensemble & Clio Gould

· METRONOME RECORDINGS, MET CD 1029; released June 1998
· Sound Carvings From The Water’s Edge*, Truth Or Consequences+, Sound Carvings from the Ice Wall+, Memorial Cairns*, Sound Carvings from Rano Raraku+ · Performed by Psappha (+) and Scottish Ensemble (*)

Other CD recordings:

· Minnesang (2009), Sarah Watts (bass clarinet) and Antony Clare (piano) on Timeless Shades - Music for bass clarinet and piano by British-based composers, CUILLIN SOUND CUILL1002 (2-CD set). Available from www.cuillinsoundmusic.co.uk

· Das Leonora Notenbuch, Basho, Clare Hammond (piano solo) on Piano Polyptych, ASC Prima Facie, September 2011, PFCD007

· The Hilliard Songbook, Hilliard Ensemble on A Hilliard Songbook, 1996 ECM New Series 1614/15 453 259-2

· Truth Or Consequences (1991) and Oh Whistle And I'll Come To You (1989) on Making A Song And Dance, Neuma Records, May 1998 Neuma 450-97

· High Citadels (1994) for clarinet and piano, CD recording on Metier Recordings, June 1998 MSV CD92013

· A White Room for easy piano quartet, on NMC CD collection A White Room, February 2001 NMC D 075